Fall Recommended Reading for Moms

fall-readingThe leaves are (slowly) changing, the temps are (gradually) dropping, and the talk at the breakfast table is of Halloween costumes. It must be fall! And while fall reading is most definitely a year-round activity at our house, there are some books that are just better in autumn. Here are a few of my favorite picks for my fellow-mom readers this season:

Year of Yes: How to Dance It Out, Stand in the Sun, and Be Your Own Person by Shonda Rhimes

For moms, fall is a crazy-busy time. If you’re feeling overwhelmed, Shonda Rhimes’ words will encourage you, challenge you, and make you laugh out loud. Rhimes created ABC hit TV shows Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal, and How to Get Away with Murder. This book chronicles her year of learning to say yes to hard things. She shares her journey with wit and wisdom and her story is one we can all appreciate. Jen Hatmaker readers will appreciate her writing style and fans of Rhimes’ shows will appreciate an inside look at the worlds she’s created.

The Life We Bury by Allen Eskens

If you love a suspenseful read that also has compelling characters and a great storyline, this should be next on your list. Eskens’ novel follows Joe, a hard-working college student with a messy home life, as he tries to write the life-story of convicted murderer Carl for an English class. What starts as an interesting, character-driven story, quickly becomes a suspense-filled, page turner as you read. If you enjoyed Where’d You Go, Bernadette, the Chief Inspector Gamache series, or The Flavia de Luce books, definitely check out The Life We Bury.

My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry by Fredrik Backman

I get a bit tongue-tied when recommending this book, but I do it anyway! Fredrik Backman sailed to the top of my “favorite authors” list when I read A Man Called Ove. And I liked the second book I read by him even better! My Grandmother… is the story of 7-year-old Elsa and her endearingly crazy, 77-year-old grandmother. Granny has created a beautiful fairy-tale world for her granddaughter, which Elsa slowly discovers is based on actual people and events in her grandmother’s life. Backman writes with wit and poignancy, his characters are multi-dimensional and beautiful. Fans of books like The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry and The One in a Million Boy will enjoy this.

Wonder by R.J. Paliaco

Like my Summer Reads, my final pick for fall is a middle-grades novel that transcends its label. If you have a middle-schooler, chances are they’ve read this award-winning book about August, a 5th grader with a significant facial deformity. But even if you don’t, this book is worth your while! Paliaco writes in the first person from the perspectives of August, his sister, and several of his school friends. They tell the story of being, loving and knowing Auggie with honesty, humor, and kindness. Good books allow us to get inside another’s experience- Wonder does that masterfully. And, bonus, the movie will be out next year! If you liked Wednesday Wars from my Summer Reads or The Rosie Project, read Wonder.

What book are you looking forward to curling up with this fall?

 

, , , , , , , , ,

One Response to Fall Recommended Reading for Moms

  1. Jen
    Jen September 30, 2016 at 2:43 pm #

    I love this list! I’m always looking for new books to read!